News

Pokémon Announces Press Conference This Week, Sword And Shield Direct Next Week

by Brian Shea on May 27, 2019 at 09:46 AM

With E3 on the horizon, the rush is on to get the spotlight before the noise of the show commences. For Pokémon, that comes in two forms over the next two weeks: a press conference and a Pokémon Direct presentation.

The press conference, which will be held in Tokyo, Japan, is scheduled for tomorrow, May 28, at 9 p.m. Eastern/6 p.m. Pacific. The brand tweeted that it has, "some exciting news to share." According to the official Pokémon website, the conference (which will be livestreamed on Twitch) is, "expected to cover a number of topics of interest to Pokémon fans."

One topic of interest it may not cover in depth is the upcoming Switch titles, Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield. That's because those games are set to receive their own Pokémon Direct presentation next week. On June 5 at 9 a.m. Eastern/6 a.m. Pacific, fans can expect around 15 minutes worth of new information surrounding the highly anticipated Pokémon Sword and Shield. This will be the first major info dump since the games' full reveals earlier this year

Pokémon Sword and Shield are set to launch sometime later this year on Switch.

[Source: Pokémon on Twitter (1), (2), Pokemon.com]