Please support Game Informer. Print magazine subscriptions are less than $2 per issue


Trent Reznor Announces Quake Soundtrack Is Getting The Vinyl Treatment

by Liana Ruppert on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:40 PM

Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor just announced that his incredible Quake soundtrack has been remastered as a 2XLP vinyl. Even moreso, Reznor not-so-subtly took a shot at "a certain unnamed video game publisher" by providing a link that offers fans a booklet with an essay from id Software's John Carmack.

The reveal came by way of the official Nine Inch Nails Twitter account alongside the reveal of The Social Network's soundtrack. Reznor's contribution to the Quake sounds were legendary, and now collectors and vinyl lovers alike can experience these epic tracks in a new way. 

Reznor offers the Quake 2XLP for $35 on the official Nine Inch Nails website with an added note that isn't exactly subtle when pointing to a different link with purchase. 

According to the product listing, "We designed this reissue to include a booklet containing essays from id Software's John Carmack and American McGee. A certain unnamed video game publisher made it impossible to include this in the package, so please honor their wishes by not clicking here to even see the essays, or here to print the booklet out yourself."


For Quake fans and Nine Inch Nails fans, the essays included are an incredible behind-the-scenes look at the process of creation for a soundtrack that continues to be an epic auditory experience. 

As for the vinyl set itself, the tracks included are: 

  • Quake theme
  • Aftermath
  • The Hall of Souls
  • It Is Raped
  • Parallel Dimensions
  • Life
  • Damnation
  • Focus
  • Falling
  • The Reaction

The soundtrack is available to purchase now. 

Products In This Article

Quake Championscover

Quake Champions

Release Date: