Please support Game Informer. Print magazine subscriptions are less than $2 per issue


Eidos-Montréal Reveals Full Guardians Of The Galaxy Soundtrack, Including New Song From Star-Lord’s Band

by Wesley LeBlanc on Oct 08, 2021 at 09:41 AM

Eidos-Montréal has revealed the full licensed music soundtrack players can expect to hear in its upcoming Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy game. 

As you might expect, it features plenty of 1980s hits as well as at least two songs from Star-Lord’s own in-game band. To celebrate today’s announcement, the studio debuted the very-80s, very-VHS-style music video for "Zero to Hero", the second single from Star-Lord’s band. You can watch that below: 

According to Eidos-Montréal, the music video for "Zero to Hero" features a few nods to Peter Quill’s inspiration to actually adopt the Star-Lord name. "Zero to Hero" is the second Star-Lord single released, with Space Riders With No Names being the first. Both of those can be found in the official Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy original video game playlist here

As far as what other songs you can expect in Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy, the full 28-song soundtrack (not counting the Star-Lord songs) can be viewed below: 

  • Blondie – Call Me
  • Blue Oyster Cult – Don't Fear The Reaper
  • Bobby McFerrin – Don't Worry Be Happy
  • Hot Chocolate – Every 1's A Winner
  • Wang Chung – Everybody Have Fun Tonight
  • Tears For Fears – Everybody Wants To Rule The World
  • EUROPE – The Final Countdown
  • New Kids on the Block – Hangin' Tough
  • Pat Benatar – Hit Me With Your Best Shot
  • Bonnie Tyler – Holding Out for a Hero
  • KISS – I Love It Loud
  • Flock of Seagulls – I Ran
  • Culture Club – I'll Tumble 4 Ya
  • Mötley Crüe – Kickstart My Heart
  • Simple Minds – Love Song
  • Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up
  • Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Relax
  • Def Leppard – Rock Rock Till You Drop
  • Rainbow – Since You Been Gone
  • A-ha – Take On Me
  • Soft Cell – Tainted Love
  • Loverboy – Turn Me Loose
  • Autograph – Turn Up the Radio
  • Wham! – Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go
  • Scandal featuring Patty Smyth – The Warrior
  • Starship – We Built This City
  • Twisted Sister – We're Not Gonna Take It
  • Billy Idol – White Wedding

“You’ll get to listen to these incredible tracks as you progress through the game, as well as on the jukebox that’s on the Milano,” according to Eidos-Montréal. “Some of them will also play a key role during the Huddle, a key gameplay mechanic in combat. You will have the opportunity to choose between two bangers on Star-Lord’s cassette player to try and motivate the Guardians and overwhelm your enemies.” 

Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy will be released on October 26 on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, and PC. A cloud version of the game for the Nintendo Switch will be released that day as well. 

For more about Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy, check out our thoughts on it after going hands-on with it recently in Game Informer’s Guardians of the Galaxy preview. Watch this 4K footage of the game after that and then check out the latest trailer for a look at Cosmo, the Nova Corps, and more.

Are you excited about this soundtrack? Are there any standouts missing from the list? Let us know in the comments below!

[Source: Square Enix]

Products In This Article

Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxycover

Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy

PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X/S, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, PC
Release Date: