Please support Game Informer. Print magazine subscriptions are less than $2 per issue


Netflix's The Witcher Season 2 Synopsis Reveals A Return To Kaer Morhen

by Liana Ruppert on Oct 05, 2020 at 04:36 PM

Earlier today, we had our first look at Geralt's new armor in Netflix's The Witcher season two, now we've got the official synopsis for what the next step in the story will be. 

Season two will, as expected, pick up where season one left off: the Battle of Sodden. It was during season one's finale that Geralt believed Yennefer died in the battle itself. Grieving yet determined, season two will take Geralt and Ciri back to his childhood home in Kaer Morhen where he was raised by Vesemir and trained among the other witchers. 

Spoiler alert (but is it really?), Yennefer isn't actually dead, but Geralt doesn't know that. We're anticipating a spicy reunion between the two, but it wouldn't be The Witcher if it were all sunshine and roses. 

According to the official synopsis, provided by Netflix: 

Convinced Yennefer’s life was lost at the Battle of Sodden, Geralt of Rivia brings Princess Cirilla to the safest place he knows, his childhood home of Kaer Morhen. While the Continent’s kings, elves, humans and demons strive for supremacy outside its walls, he must protect the girl from something far more dangerous: the mysterious power she possesses inside.

With not much to go on other than the recent photo and the confirmation that filming has resumed following the latest recasting, we're still waiting on a possible release date. Hopefully we'll have another dramatic book reading from Henry Cavill like he did for the last season. You know, for science. 

Are you excited for Netflix's The Witcher season two? What aspect of the books are you most excited to see reflected that the games didn't touch? Sound off with your season two wish list in the comment section below! 

Products In This Article

The Witcher 3: Wild Huntcover

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt

PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X/S, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, PC
Release Date:
May 19, 2015 (PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC), 
October 15, 2019 (Switch), 
December 14, 2022 (PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X/S)