Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection

A Speed Run Through History
by Mike Futter on Jun 27, 2013 at 07:37 AM
Publisher: Konami
Developer: Kojima Productions
Release: June 2013
Rating: Mature
Platform: PlayStation 3

There are eight games in Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy. That's just about half of the titles that have been released under the Metal Gear banner. This new collection brings together some of the best in the series.

In addition to the eight games, two graphic novels from artist Ashley Wood are in the package. Here's what's included:

  • Metal Gear (NES)
  • Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake (MSX)
  • Metal Gear Solid (PlayStation)
  • Metal Gear Solid: VR Missions (PlayStation)
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (PlayStation 2)
  • Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (PlayStation 2)
  • Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots (PlayStation 3)
  • Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker HD (PlayStation 3, Xbox 360)
  • Metal Gear Solid: Digital Graphic Novel
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: Digital Graphic Novel

Curious what's not included? Here's the list of the other Metal Gear title (excluding the mobile games):

  • Metal Gear Solid 2: Snake's Revenge (NES - North America Only)
  • Metal Gear Solid: Ghost Babel (Game Boy Color)
  • Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (GameCube)
  • Metal Gear Solid: Acid (PlayStation Portable)
  • Metal Gear Solid: Acid 2 (PlayStation Portable)
  • Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops
  • Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance

This trailer comes hot on the heels of news this week that series creator Hideo Kojima would entertain an outside studio remaking Metal Gear Solid. This morning, Just Add Water (responsible for the delightful remake of Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath) stepped up and offered its services

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection arrives on July 9, 2013 only on PlayStation 3.