Fallout 4 Doesn’t Have A Level Cap To Hold You Back
by Mike Futter on Sep 24, 2015 at 07:11 AM
Platform PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC
Publisher Bethesda Softworks
Developer Bethesda Softworks
Rating Mature

Bethesda has detailed how progress will be handled in Fallout 4. While the skill-based system found in Skyrim won’t be infiltrating the wasteland, there have been some improvements over what you found in Fallout 3.

The SPECIAL system returns, with each of the stats (Strength, Perception, Endurance, Charisma, Intelligence, Agility, and Luck) having a range from one to ten. You’ll get 28 points to allocate at the start, and you’ll get to reallocate early in the game after you’ve played for a bit.

There’s no level cap this time out, and the experience-based progression system has been quickened a bit. That means you’ll be able to grow your skills and pick perks from an enormous chart (below). Oh, and this poster is included in every pre-order copy.

Click to enlarge.

Bethesda explains that each perk has its own leveling system and sub-tree. Some ranks require reaching a certain level or having a SPECIAL value high enough. Each of the seven stats has ten perks associated with it. You’ll also be able to boost your SPECIAL levels later in the game.

Beyond that, there are magazines and comics you can find scattered around the world. These will bestow unique skills, with different levels unlocked the more you find.

For more, check out Bethesda’s website.

[Source: Bethesda]

Products In This Article

Fallout 4

PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC
Release Date: