Bungie Confirms Uncovered Destiny Expansion Details As 'Placeholders'

by Mike Futter on Sep 29, 2014 at 09:37 AM

Update: Bungie community manager David Dague has addressed the recent details about upcoming Destiny expansions. Dague, who patrols the forums under the user name "Deej," says the names found are "placeholders" and may change prior to release.

Dague also says that neither of the expansion packs are finished, though the first one will be completed soon. The Dark Below, Destiny's first add-on, is due in December. The full forum post follows.

Hey, Bungie Community. 

I hope you had a nice weekend.

We noticed that you noticed that we already have plans for upcoming content packs in Destiny. 

We do! They have activity names (which may or may not change) and we have a really good idea what they're going to contain. They even have placeholder nodes in the Director, as you've already discovered. 

But neither of the Expansion Packs we've announced are finished. 

People at Bungie are hard at work to complete content for our first post launch pack, "The Dark Below," as I type these words. It will be finished soon. It releases in December. Soon, we'll detail it out for you so you can see exactly what we've been working on.

Thanks for playing. Thanks for the passion. We know you want details. We'll talk more soon.

Original Story:

If you purchased one of the upgraded versions of Destiny, bundled with your game was access to the first two expansion packs. The two add-ons, titled The Dark Below and House of Wolves, will be rolling out in December 2014 and early 2015 respectively. Now, it seems, we know what to expect from them.

Two videos have appeared online depicting a bug that reportedly locks players out of all content, including the Tower "city" hub. A side effect seems to reveal story, strike, and raid content coming in the two expansions, though.

We won't spoil that with a list here, but if you are interested in seeing what's in store, we captured screengrabs in the gallery below and you can watch the two videos we've embedded from users Scott M and Kinsey_92. What we can tell you without giving too much away, is that there are six story missions, three strikes, and two raids included across the two expansions.

There are also two strike playlists, one for each of the add-ons. The story missions are mostly at or under the soft level cap of 20, so even if you are getting burned by the random number generator, you will still be able to participate.

[Source: YouTube (1), (2) via Kotaku]

Our Take

There aren't too many revelations here, largely because the Destiny story doesn't make much sense as is. These reveals serve more to show what kind of enemies we'll be fighting and the types of scenarios we'll be engaging in (story, strike, raid). As for spoilers, I'd just like someone to explain what I've already played. From here on out, it's all about the gunplay, which has been the best part of the experience.