Writers Guild Announces Video Game Nominees

by Jeff Cork on Jan 18, 2013 at 02:41 AM

The Writers Guild of America has announced the nominees for its annual awards for video games. As usual, the nominees are an eclectic mix of obvious picks and head-scratching surprises.

To be considered for the award, games must have been released between December 1, 2011, and November 30, 2012, and writers must be members of the guild. Additionally, game scripts have to be submitted. That explains the unusual mix of nominees. Where else would Mortal Kombat's story be held up against Batman: Arkham City and Uncharted 3?

Here are this year's nominees:

007 Legends: Written By Bruce Feirstein; Activision

Assassin’s Creed III: Story By Alex Hutchinson, Corey May, Matt Turner; Multiplayer Story By Richard Farrese, Jeffrey Yohalem; Lead Scriptwriter Corey May; Scriptwriter Nicholas Grimwood, Russell Lees, Matt Turner, Danny Wallace, Ceri Young; Ubisoft

Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation: Scriptwriting by Richard Farrese, Jill Murray; Ubisoft

Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two: Writing Consultant Marv Wolfman; Disney Interactive Studios

Halo 4: Narrative Design Christopher Schlerf; Microsoft Studios

Uncharted: Golden Abyss, Written By John Garvin; Sony Computer Entertainment America

Winners will be announced at the Writers Guild Awards ceremony, which is being held this year on February 17 in Los Angeles.