Gabe Newell To Be Inducted In The AIAS Hall Of Fame

by Jeff Cork on Nov 15, 2012 at 02:58 AM

The Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences has announced that it will be inducting Valve co-founder Gabe Newell into the organization's Hall of Fame. Newell will be presented with the award at the annual D.I.C.E. Summit in February.

“Gabe is one of the most cherished and respected figures in the industry not only for his technological innovations in advancing many of today’s highly successful video games, but also for his unique stance towards leadership and management,” said Martin Rae, president of the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences. “Gabe’s vision for the interactive industry has created lasting effects that have completely reshaped this generation’s digital distribution model, paving the way for independent developers and creating an invaluable service for consumers. It is a great honor to have Gabe inducted into the Academy’s Hall of Fame.”

Newell co-founded the Valve Corporation with fellow Microsoft employee Mike Harrington in 1996. The studio developed games including the Half-Life series, Counter-Strike, Left 4 Dead, and Portal. It was also a pioneer of digital distribution, with its Steam service.

Here's a quick recap of past Hall of Fame honorees, to give you a sense of who's been given the award in the past.


  • 2012 Tim Sweeney (Epic Games)
  • 2011 Ray Muzyka & Greg Zeschuk (BioWare co-founders)
  • 2010 Mark Cerny (Marble Madness) 
  • 2009 Bruce Shelley (Ensemble Studios)
  • 2008 Michael Morhaime (Blizzard president and co-founder)
  • 2007 Dani Bunten (M.U.L.E.)
  • 2006 Richard Garriott (Ultima)
  • 2005 Trip Hawkins (Electronic Arts founder)
  • 2004 Peter Molyneux (Lionhead founder)
  • 2003 Yu Suzuki (Sega)
  • 2002 Will Wright (Maxis)
  • 2001 John Carmack (Id Software)
  • 2000 Hironobu Sakaguchi (Mistwalker)
  • 1999 Sid Meier (Firaxis founder)
  • 1998 Shigeru Miyamoto (Nintendo)