Activision Wins Case Against MW 3 Spoof Site

by Jeff Marchiafava on Sep 07, 2011 at 01:00 PM

We all chuckled a few months ago when it was discovered that the domain ModernWarfare3.com redirected to EA's Battlefield 3 homepage. Activision didn't find the stunt very funny, however, and filed a complaint with the National Arbitration Forum over the site, which recently ruled in the publisher's favor.

The domain was owned by a man named Anthony Abraham, who registered the domain back in 2009, but only recently started using it to grief Activision. The National Arbitration Forum required Activision to prove that the domain name was "confusingly similar" to a trademark held by Activision, that the current owner had no right or legitimate interest in the domain, and that the current owner was using it in bad faith – all of which were readily apparent.

You can read the National Arbitration Forum's full findings here, but it ends with the panel ordering Abraham to transfer the domain to Activision. Sorry for the spoiler.

[via Fusible]