WGA Announces Video Game Writing Nominees

by Meagan Marie on Jan 07, 2011 at 03:20 AM

The Writers Guild of America’s East and West labor unions have united to announce nominations for achievement in video game writing for 2010. An awards ceremony will be held on February 5 simultaneously in Los Angeles and New York to honor the best qualifying video game scripts released from December 1, 2009, to November 30, 2010.

The guild was established to represent writers in a variety of fields including cinema, television, cable, digital media, and broadcast news. The Video Game Writers Caucus’ intent is to “promote storytelling excellence in video games, improve the status of gaming writers, and encourage uniform standards within the gaming industry.”

The guild nominees with proper accreditation can be found below.

Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood: Story by Patrice Desilets, Jeffrey Yohalem, Corey May; Lead Script Writer: Jeffrey Yohalem; Script Writers: Ethan Petty, Nicholas Grimwood, Matt Turner; Ubisoft

Fallout: New Vegas: Creative Design Lead/Lead Writer: John Gonzalez; Writers: Chris Avellone, Eric Fenstermaker, Travis Stout; Additional Writing: Tess Treadwell, George Ziets, Jason Bergman, Nick Breckon, Matt Grandstaff, Will Noble, Andrew Scharf; Bethesda Softworks

God of War III: Written by Marianne Krawcyzk; Additional Writing by Stig Asmussen, Ariel Lawrence, William Weissbaum; Sony Computer Entertainment

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands (Wii): Writer: Benjamin McCaw; Story Dialogue Editor: Marianne Krawczyk; Ubisoft

Singularity: Written by Marc Guggenheim, Lindsey Allen, Emily Silver; Additional Story and Writing: Jason Henderson, Adam Foshko, Michael Cassutt; Story and Script Consultant: Adam Foshko; Activision

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II: Executive Producer-Writer: Haden Blackman; In-Game Script: David Collins, John Stafford, Cameron Suey; Additional Writing: Tid Cooney, Ian Dominguez, Tony Rowe; LucasArts

Any surprising inclusions or glaring omissions in your eyes?  Keep in mind that the award is only applicable to submitted works that meet established criteria. One such stipulation dictates that associated writers must be members of or applicants to the guild itself.