Feature

Three Games You Can Play For Free This Weekend

by Mike Futter on Apr 17, 2016 at 08:18 AM

This is a great weekend if you happen to have free time and open hard-drive space. There are three games you can play absolutely free – two of them are in beta and the other is already out.

This feature was originally published April 15, 2016.

Battleborn
Platforms: PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC
Starts: April 8 at 10 a.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Eastern (PS4), April 13 at 10 a.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Eastern (Xbox One and PC)
Ends: Monday, April 18 at 7 a.m. Pacific / 10 a.m. Eastern

Gearbox’s Battleborn is described as a “hero shooter,” with both cooperative and competitive modes. The cooperative gameplay supports up to five players working through story missions. Competitive modes include traditional capture point and a MOBA-style option with minions.

The beta includes two full story-mode missions, two modes each on a different map, all 25 heroes, loot, and full progression systems. You can read more about it in our cover story from August 2014 and our most recent hands-on preview.

Doom
Platforms: PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC
Starts: April 14 at 9 p.m. Pacific / April 15 at 12 a.m. Eastern
Ends: April 17 at 8:59 p.m. Pacific / 11:59 p.m. Eastern

Id’s Doom brings a sense of speed back to Deathmatch. While there is both a single-player campaign and a map creator (Snap Map) on all three platforms, the beta is focused on the multiplayer.

It includes two modes, Deathmatch and Warpath, for two teams of six. Warpath is a king of the hill type with a constantly moving capture zone.

While the full game will let players customize which demon they wish to become when capturing the rune, only one is enabled for the beta (the Revenant). Seven weapons (rocket launcher, plasma rifle, super shotgun, vortex rifle, static rifle, heavy assault rifle, and lightning gun) are included. You’ll also be able to find one power weapon (gauss cannon) and loadout with frag grenades, personal teleporters, and siphon grenades.

For more on Doom, check out our coverage hub for the February 2016 issue.

Rainbow Six Siege
Platforms: PC
Starts: April 14 at 10 a.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Eastern
Ends: April 17 at 1 p.m. Pacific / 4 p.m. Eastern

Ubisoft is offering players a chance to play the full version of Rainbow Six Siege for free on Steam this weekend. You can download it now and give it a try.

Bring some friends, because this game requires communication and teamwork. You can read more about it in our review.