www.GameInformer.com
Switch Lights

The lights are on

What's Happening

Microsoft Announces Mandatory Xbox One System Update

Later today, Microsoft will be rolling out a new system update for Xbox One. The update addresses a number of issues, all of which have been explicitly detailed.

Here’s what the patch will improve on your Xbox One:

  • Addresses SmartGlass issues for some users when coming in and out of connected standby
  • Addresses multiplayer issues for some users when re-joining games
  • Addresses issues with inconsistent notifications for some users
  • Addresses dashboard performance for some users
  • Offers improvements for Xbox One’s TV, system update, and content update services for scaling over time
  • Updated wireless networking driver to improve connectivity issues for some users

According to Xbox Live program director Larry Hryb, the update will download in the background as early as 8 PM Eastern / 5 PM Pacific. Once on board, the system will power down fully, so you’ll need to manually power back on afterward. 

After you turn your Xbox One back on, the update will take two to five minutes to install. You’ll see the Xbox logo on a green screen (seen above) while this is happening.

If you don’t use the Xbox One’s low-power state (which enables the “Xbox On” voice command), you can manually download and apply this update starting on Thursday, December 12 at 7 PM Eastern / 4 PM Pacific.

[Source: Major Nelson]

 

Our Take
I had no problem downloading and installing my day one patch on the Xbox One launch day. My hope is that luck will continue and this will be a painless process. None of these updates seem particularly significant, which means that this is more about fixes than feature improvements. I’m looking forward to that first big patch that will hopefully improve the friends and party experiences.

Email the author , or follow on , , and .

comments
    1 2 Next