After four years of service, Konami has announced it is shutting down the online component of Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots.

Metal Gear Online as an entity will close in waves, as detailed in official timeline from Konami below – including the chance to get expansion packs and other rewards for free.

March 21st 2012 16:00 (JST) (2am central daylight time)

  • Closure of MGO Online Shop.

April 24th 2012 18:00 (JST) (4am central daylight time)
(Note: Registration for new player characters will not be available during this time)

  • Expansion packs and Preset Codec Message Appeal Packs will be available for free download.
  • Reward shop equipment will be available for free. (* With the exception of "non-sale" items.)

June 12th 2012 23:59 (JST) (9:59am central daylight time)

  • End of online service